Blank Space.

with eyes so numb and heart heavy

I watched them take her away .

Was it a lie ” The little coffins are the heaviest” when they say.

It was the story of just yesterday

I held the blessed gift of god in these arms

The gloom of pain was replaced with gay of day.

Her little fingers curled up in a ball

Her deep gray eyes, hidden behind the flutter of lids

The little curls her lips made

a possible smile could be sensed;

There was laughter and mirth even behind the hobnobbing doors.

My heart grew more every time I heard them say –

“she is blessed with a baby doll”

Years passed by as i watched her turn three,

Walking around she just wanted to be free

Oh what bliss it was to hear her call me ‘Ma’

Who else would believed that my kiss would cure all her scars.

Every nook and corner still holds her giggles;

That swing outside;

That white frock she loved;

That space now vacant on her father’s chest,

Where she slept is left with nothing but the skeleton of her breath;

Those questions that shall remain unanswered

From today until forever;

How long before she turns into a princess?

How long before she could be as strong as dad?

All of this and more of that,

she nor I will ever know.

With a blank space in my heart i watched them take her away

With every inch of separation between us

She took the glow from my eyes

And love from my heart.

I feel the void in my rib cage that was once filled with a heart;

“Little coffins are the heaviest” they say,

It was the story of just yesterday.

Leave a Reply

